Breaking: Rivers State Governor Fubara Swears in Caretaker Committee Chairmen


Rivers State Governor Siminalayi Fubara has officially sworn in the new Caretaker Chairmen for the 23 local government areas of the state. The swearing-in ceremony was conducted on Wednesday at the Executive Council Chambers of Government House in Port Harcourt.

This development follows the screening and confirmation of the nominees by the Rivers State House of Assebly. The Governor emphasized the importance of effective leadership and urged the newly appointed chairman to prioritize the need of their communities and ensure efficient service delivery.

The appointment of the caretaker chairmen is part of the administration’s efforts to maintain stability and continuity in local governance.

Governor Siminalayi Fubara had submitted the names for screening and confirmation on Tuesday, following the expiration of the local government chairmen’s tenure on June 17, 2024. This proactive step was aimed at ensuring a seamless transition and continuity in local governance across the state.

The Rivers State House of Assembly promptly reviewed and confirmed the nominees, underscoring the importance of maintaining effective leadership at the local government level.

Governor Fubara reiterated his administration’s commitment to good governance and urged the newly appointed chairmen to focus on delivering essential services to ther communities.

Below are the names of the Caretakers Chairmen confirmed by the Assembly:

Ahoada East LGA- Hon. Happy Benneth

Ahoada West LGA- Mr. Daddy John Green

Akuku Toru LGA- Otonye Briggs

Andoni LGA- Reginald Ekaan

Asari Toru LGA- Orolosoma Amachree

Bonny LGA- Alabota Anengi Barasua

Degema LGA- Anthony Soberekon

Eleme LGA- Brian Gokpa

Emohua LGA- David Omereji

Etche LGA- John Otamiri

Gokana LGA- Kenneth Kpeden

Ikwerre LGA- Darlington Orji

Khana LGA- Marvin Yobana

Obio /Akpor LGA- Chijioke Ihunwo

Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA- Princewill Ejekwe

Ogu/Bolo LGA- Evans Bipi

Okrika LGA- Princess Ogan

Omuma LGA- Promise Reginald

Opobo/Nkoro LGA- Enyiada Cookey-Gam

Oyigbo LGA- Gogo Philip

Port Harcourt LGA- Ichemati Ezebunwo

Tai LGA- Hon. Matthew Dike

This list reflects the divers and capable leadership chosen to steer the local government areas though this interim period, with an emphasis on stability and responsiveness to the needs of the citizens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *